AGBU Pasadena-Glendale Chapter’s Troop 86 Celebrates Eagle Scout Court of Honor

May 11, 2018

2017-05-04 14.29.53

From Left to Right: Y. Alec Gumushian, Y. Peter Deirbadrossian, Y. Garo Momjian, Y. Garen Kejejian

Written by Hovig Tabakian

Achieving the rank of Eagle in boy scouting is no small feat. A scout must first complete a series of 21 merit badges, which in conjunction with the preceding ranks teach beneficial skills for day-to-day success. The next step is to plan, organize, and lead a near hundred-hour service project to aid their community. Finally, a scout must demonstrate to a panel of Boy Scouts of America representatives that he embodies the principles outlined in the Scout Oath, Law, Motto, and Slogan.

Around four percent of Boy Scouts achieve the rank of Eagle, and on May 5, 2018, AGBU Pasadena-Glendale Chapter’s Troop 86 had the privilege of conducting a Court of Honor, celebrating the accomplishments of our four newest Eagle Scouts: Yeghpayr Alec Gumushian, Yeghpayr Peter Deirbadrossian, Yeghpayr Garo Momjian, and Yeghpayr Garen Kejejian. These four young men devoted countless hours to the scouting program and used what they had learned to give back to their community.

The court of honor was attended by the members of Troop 86 and 807, families and friends of the new Eagle Scouts, and honored guests, including AGBU Western District Committee Chair, Talin Yacoubian, Greater Los Angeles Area Council (GLAAC) board member and Eagle Scout, Mr. John Kedeshian and our good friend, GLAAC Rose Bowl District Eagle Advancement Board of Review Committee Member, Deacon Jim Crawley. The ceremony included a few words from the new Eagle Scouts describing their projects and dedicating special pins to their parents and mentors. The Court of Honor closed with all Eagle Scouts in attendance reaffirming the Eagle Scout Oath, which, for the first time ever, was presented in both English and Armenian.

The Eagles received recognition from not only the Boy Scouts of America and the AGBU, but also from government representatives, the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, and the President of the United States. We are very proud of Y. Alec, Y. Peter, Y. Garo, and Y. Garen and eagerly wait for more young men to join them in this tremendous accomplishment.